Caution: This information is intended as a guide only and should not be construed as legal advice.
Below please find a reference for some of the gun restrictions for the various states. This is by no means an end all be all and is subject to change at any time, it is the BUYERS responsibility to KNOW your local city, county and state laws regarding your purchase, not all items listed are sold or represented by Sanders Armory Corp, this is just a reference list for your knowledge.
Warning: Residents of IL, HI, MA, MI, NJ, NY and WA, please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any blackpowder firearm.
Warning: Residents of DE, DC, IL, MA, NY, and OH, please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering ammunition.
Warning: Residents of Washington, DC, MA, NJ, and NY, please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering gunpowder products, primers, or percussion caps.
Warning: Residents of FL, NJ, and NY, please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any training pistol products.
Warning: Residents of MI, please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any paintball marker.
Warning: Residents of DC and MA, please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any shot or bullet products.
Warning: Residents of CA and NJ, please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any blowgun or blowgun projectile.
Warning: Residents of MI, NY, NJ, IL, DE and OH, please check your local laws before ordering any air rifles or air pistols.
Warning: Residents of Washington, DC and MA, please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any primed or unprimed brass products.
NOTE: Some of the goods which Sanders Armory Corp offers for purchase may be restricted by Federal, State, and/or Local law. Sanders Armory Corp is an authorized dealer of all of the goods it offers for sale, but Sanders Armory Corp does not and cannot grant the right or authority to persons to purchase items which may be regulated pursuant to such laws.
Federal / State Firearms Regulations
All Federal and State firearms regulations are available on the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) website www.ATF.gov. The following information was taken directly from the publications available on this website and are intended to utilized as a guide and are not intended to be wholly inclusive of the entire Gun Control Act of 1968 or any state legislation. For more information regarding the entirety of all Federal and State firearms regulations please consult the information provided at the above website.
- You must be 21 years of age to purchase a handgun from a Federal Firearms Licensed dealer (FFL)
- You must be 18 years of age to purchase a long gun from a FFL dealer
- All handguns must be transferred from an FFL dealer to the customer in the state of the customer’s residence
- Long guns can be purchased and transferred to a resident of any state in any state provided that the transfer is legal in both the purchaser’s state and the state in which the transfer is taking place
- State residency regulations vary from state to state. Please click the following link (http://www.atf.gov/publications/firearms/index.html) to see if the firearm you are interested in can be transferred to you in any of our 29 retail locations.
- Customers must complete the federal ATF F 4473 and pass the required Brady Act background check before a firearm can be transferred
- All State paperwork (in addition to the ATF F 4473) must be completed prior to the transfer of a firearm to the purchaser. All state or locally required WAITING PERIODS begin when the purchaser patronizes the FFL dealers place of business and completes the required Federal and State paperwork. Waiting periods DO NOT begin when the firearm is paid for on-line or when the firearm is shipped.
As is discussed in ATF FFL Newsletter February 2011:
( http://www.atf.gov/files/publications/newsletters/ffl/ffl-newsletter-2011-02.pdf ) the ATF considers any non-prohibiting language in state law with regard to residents purchasing long guns in other state to be considered enabling. Therefore if a state law “enables” purchase of long guns outside of its state borders it is interpreted to mean that residents can purchase long guns in any state as long as it is not prohibited by the state’s law where the intended purchase is taking place. This is also intended to be interpreted in the reverse – allowing non-residents to purchase long guns in the FFL’s state regardless of the proximity of that purchaser’s state (provided that both states do not have prohibitive language in their legislation).
All State required purchase cards and waiting periods must be observed prior to the transfer of any firearm in any state.
Residents of California can only be transferred a firearm in the state of California.
(CA Pen. Code 12072.C & 12048(d)(7)(A))
Residents of Connecticut can purchase long guns in any state. They must posses a valid Firearms purchase permit or a current CT hunting license. If they do not have one of these qualifications they must observe the 2 week waiting period before the transfer of the firearm can be made.
A resident of any state can purchase a long gun in the state of CT provided they posses a valid CT hunting license. If a CT hunting license is not in their possession they must observe the 2 week waiting period prior to being transferred the firearm.
(CT Gen. Stat 23-37a(b))
Residents of IL can purchase long guns in any state provided they posses a valid IL FOID (Firearms Owners Identification Card) and observe the 24 hour waiting period as is mandated by IL law.
Residents of any state can purchase long guns in the state of IL provided they posses valid non-resident IL hunting license.
(IL. Comp. Stat. 430.65/3a)
Note: the 24 hour waiting period is a true 24 hour clock (Transaction started at 3:00 pm on Monday – customer can pick up their firearm beginning at 3:00 pm on Tuesday)
Residents of Maryland can purchase non-regulated (shotguns and non-assault style rifles) long guns in any other state.
Residents any can purchase non-regulated long guns in Maryland.
(MD Code 5-204:5-123;124)
Note: for a list of regulated firearms in the state of Maryland please refer to www.ATF.gov
Massachusetts law considers “assault weapons” to be part of a larger class of guns known as “large capacity weapons”. There are restrictions on possession, purchase and transportation of these guns and the penalties for using them in a crime are generally more severe. There is also a ban on “large capacity magazines” made after September 13, 1994.
The definition of “assault weapon” is the same as the federal law that went into effect on September 13, 1994. Specific guns are banned by name, and guns with certain combinations of features are banned:
a semiautomatic rifle that has an ability to accept a detachable magazine and has at least 2 of–
(i) a folding or telescoping stock;
(ii) a pistol grip that protrudes conspicuously beneath the action of the weapon ;
(iii) a bayonet mount;
(iv) a flash suppressor or threaded barrel designed to accommodate a flash suppressor; and
(v) a grenade launcher;
a semiautomatic pistol that has an ability to accept a detachable magazine and has at least 2 of–
(i) an ammunition magazine that attaches to the pistol outside of the pistol grip;
(ii) a threaded barrel capable of accepting a barrel extender, flash suppressor, forward handgrip,
(iii) a shroud that is attached to, or partially or completely encircles, the barrel and that permits
the shooter to hold the firearm with the nontrigger hand without being burned;
(iv) a manufactured weight of 50 ounces or more when the pistol is unloaded; and
(v) a semiautomatic version of an automatic firearm; and
a semiautomatic shotgun that has at least 2 of–”
(i) a folding or telescoping stock;
(ii) a pistol grip that protrudes conspicuously beneath the action of the weapon;
(iii) a fixed magazine capacity in excess of 5 rounds; and
(iv) an ability to accept a detachable magazine.’“
A “large capacity feeding device” is defined the same as in federal law, or:
“a fixed or detachable magazine, box, drum, feed strip or similar device capable of accepting, or that can be readily converted to accept, more than ten rounds of ammunition or more than five shotgun shells; … The term “large capacity feeding device” shall not include an attached tubular device designed to accept, and capable of operating only with,.22 caliber ammunition.”
A “large capacity weapon” is basically any firearm, rifle or shotgun that is semi-automatic with a fixed large capacity feeding device or that is capable of accepting any detachable large capacity feeding device; or an “assault weapon.”
Ban on recently-manufactured “assault weapons” and “large capacity magazines.” State law clearly limits possession to pre-1994 items and exempts out only law enforcement and retired law enforcement:
“No person shall sell, offer for sale, transfer or possess an assault weapon or a large capacity feeding device that was not otherwise lawfully possessed on September 13, 1994. Whoever not being licensed under the provisions of section 122 violates the provisions of this section shall be punished, for a first offense, by a fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $10,000 or by imprisonment for not less than one year nor more than ten years, or by both such fine and imprisonment, and for a second offense, by a fine of not less than $5,000 nor more than $15,000 or by imprisonment for not less than five years nor more than 15 years, or by both such fine and imprisonment. The provisions of this section shall not apply to: (i) the possession by a law enforcement officer for purposes of law enforcement; or (ii) the possession by an individual who is retired from service with a law enforcement agency and is not otherwise prohibited from receiving such a weapon or feeding device from such agency upon retirement.”
Transportation of “Large Capacity Weapons:” No person possessing a large capacity rifle or shotgun under a Class A or Class B license issued under section 131 or 131F shall possess the same in a vehicle unless such weapon is unloaded and contained within the locked trunk of such vehicle or in a locked case or other secure container. Whoever violates the provisions of this subsection shall be punished by a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5,000.
References: Mass General Law C.140 s121, 131C, 131M and 18 U.S.C. section 921(a)(30)
Residents of the state of New Jersey can purchase long guns in any state provided they posses a valid NJ F.I.D. (Firearms Identification Card)
Non-residents must posses a valid NJ F.I.D. card to purchase a long gun in the state of NJ.
(NJ Code 2C:58-3)
Residents of Rhode Island can purchase long guns in any state provided they posses a signed application for purchase of firearm and observe a 7 day waiting period that begins at noon the day after the purchase application is signed.
Residents of any state can purchase a long gun in the state of RI provided they have a signed application for purchase of a firearm and observe the 7 day waiting period that begins at noon the day after the purchase application is signed.
(R.I. Gen. Laws 11-47-35.2)